Tags:
  1. Paradise671

Paradise671 New Member

I dont get it?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Paradise671, Jan 6, 2008.

Hey im new to book writing, and i got a question.

When i want to copyright my book can i just make my own copyright like on my book i will just write the copyright thing or do i have to register at copyright.gov. Cause i want to publish my book at lulu.com

2. Gloom Kitty

Gloom Kitty Banned

in a little cage in the bowls of Cephalid
    Hmm I'm not sure about that one you could try asking TW Erwin he knows loads of stuff about copyrights and publishing

3. Torana

Torana Contributing Member Contributor

there is a thread somewhere about copywriting. I will try and find it for you. Or you could PM mammamaia as she knows a great deal about this sort of thing.

Torana

4. Torana

Torana Contributing Member Contributor

5. Axis

Axis Member

Copyright is a complicated issue, and the laws governing it change in different countries. Ring your local writers centre of writers guild, and they will give you good local advice.

6. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

There are forum threads on copyright in the forum, and there are also a couple links in the Writing Resource Links thread.

7. mercy

mercy Senior Member

Great link. Thanks Cogito

8. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

for the real skinny on all things to do with copyright, go to the source:

U.S. Copyright Office

if you want to self-publish with lulu [or anyone else], it's best to register your already existing copyright with the gov't office, though lulu may do that for you [check with them, first], as traditional publishers do...

the main thing you need to know is that you already have a copyright on your work... you don't 'get' it anywhere... it exists from the moment you have a completed work in any reproducable form... after that, all you do is 'register' it... you can also do that with wga, the writer's union...