1. Future Unknown

Future Unknown New Member

Recommend me some books please!

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Future Unknown, Dec 24, 2010.

I need urgent help.I am a newbie in the world of literature.I don't know where to begin or what to read.The problem is that there is a massive amount of material and it is very hard to get started.I have been watching,reading or listening other mediums.Maybe if I can mention my favorites from other mediums someone can recommend me books that would appeal to me. Heres is my favorite material from other mediums:

TV
    Lost: What I love about this show is the character development and the flashbacks. What I hate is that it drags too much.
    King Crab Space Crustacean: This show blew my mind. Is about a parasite and a space crew.

Music
    I love punk rock and most of it´s subdivisions. I love classic punk rock, Ramones,The Clash and The Sex Pistols.

Anime/Manga
    -Death Note: This is probably my favorite show.It is full of excitement and it grips the viewers and makes you keep on watching.
    -Code Geass:Similar to Death Note. It gets to the point and it is very addictive, the ending was pretty good too.
    -Monster:It is psycological and as we get keeping on reading we explore the past of the main antagonist.

Movies
    Star Wars(Original Trilogy): Nuff said.
    Inception:Christopher´s Nolan best film in my opinion. Like monster, as the plot moves we get to explore the main character.
    Back to the future: I really love the idea of time travelling.

What I would like to avoid is works of fiction that fall in the following categories:

Cliché:Follow the same old hero story(Monomyth).
    Ambigious:The one the critics love. Yet they are very frustrating, they usually don't have a satisfiying conclusion.
    Draggy It is when the writers just keep on adding more and more content which makes the audience stay. Yet it eventually leads nowhere.

Well I hope someone can help.

2. thirdwind