1. Fife

Fife New Member

I've Never Written a Script Before...

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by Fife, Nov 12, 2012.

It seems, intuitively, they are meant to be performed (e.g. play, movie, etc.). Are there people who prefer reading a script to reading a novel or traditionally written story? Are there people who write scripts without intentions of seeing them perform based on the fact that it is more effective to be read in script-form given certain circumstances? I've never really known much about scripts. Most people I've met that have ever mentioned about scripts were hoping to have them put in a movie--which I guess, would be the equivalent to having it published, I presume. Any thoughts?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i mentor and provide writing services for aspiring screenwriters, so can tell you from many years' experience, that some people do write scripts 'just for fun'... they may harbor hidden thoughts of having something produced some day, but they don't actively pursue such a dream...

in the many decades i've been helping writers, i can recall only one person who said they read scripts for entertainment, as they do prose...

3. robertpri007

robertpri007 New Member

If you think the competition to get published is rough, I suspect getting a SP to film is a quantum leap. I took two screen writing courses, and attended several SP seminars, and I can say for certain that the new knowledge has helped my fiction manuscripts enormously. You have about 105-115 pages to create worthy characters and intriguing plot and cannot waste a word.

Writing screenplays may never pay off, but it's a wonderful learning experience.

4. Fullmetal Xeno

Fullmetal Xeno Protector of Literature Contributor

Yeah i attempted to write a script before, let's say it's not so easy.. so for now i'm just sticking with novels...

5. Selbbin

Selbbin The Moderating Cat Staff Contributor Contest Winner 2023