1. lameri

lameri New Member

Hyphens

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by lameri, Apr 6, 2011.

Do you write one in:

I wet my feet in the crystal-clear waters

? I would, but I've seen it without.

2. lostinwebspace

lostinwebspace Active Member

I would write it without the hyphen because "crystal" is modifying "clear." Then again, if "crystal clear" is a compound adjective, then you could put the hyphen in. I'm still new at hyphens, but that's my take. Merriam-Webster does show it without the hyphen, though, even as an adjective. Their site also gives "crystal clear water" as an example.

3. KP Williams

KP Williams Active Member

By my understanding, you would only put a hyphen between them if they serve as a single description of one thing.

"Five-mile run" would require a hyphen, because five-mile is a single description for the run. Same deal with "Two-year-old child," and yes, your example as well. "Crystal-clear waters" is correct. However, this is an odd description, because it's also fair to interpret it another way. You can assume that crystal is a separate description for clear, describing exactly how clear the thing is. Either way is correct in this case.

I'm sure that's clear as mud. Or, alternately, I could say that this has been a clear-as-mud post. :p Hyphens can be tricky. Whenever you see them, pay attention to how they're used and try to work out why they're used. If you can get the feel for their use, it's much better than memorizing a bunch of hard-to-remember rules.

4. lameri

lameri New Member

I'm not sure what you mean about "it modifies 'clear'".
    In "this is a long-term relationship" the word "long" modifies the term, but it is hyphenated. Maybe I don't understand something...
    Thanks.

5. KP Williams

Long-term is a single description. You can't remove the "long" or the "term" and still have it carry the same meaning, therefore, it requires a hyphen.

I should have said that in my first post. >_<

6. lameri