1. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Changing [her life, the world, society ...] forever.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by GingerCoffee, Mar 15, 2013.

I'm wondering how others feel about the typical synopsis ending of changing the world forever.

Here's an example of the last line of my synopsis:

...; that leads to an encounter with the Founders where she discovers the dreadful fate of the rest of her people, and sets off a cascade of events that changes her and the two societies forever.

The more I read synopses, the more cliche 'forever changed' sounds. OTOH, it seems to be the standard, and as a new writer, I don't know of a better way to write a hook in a synopsis.

What do you folks think?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Leave it out. If it's not apparent from the rest of the synopsis that the story has fundamentally changed the world, such a statement comes across as hyperbole. If it is apparent from the rest of the synopsis, it's tedious and redundant.

3. murasaki_sama

murasaki_sama New Member

I think its unnecessary for two reasons - 1) readers expect change to occur in a story, and 2) all change is forever. What sort of change does it bring about? Does it cause war or peace? Help build intercultural/species cooperation , or lead to the enslavement of one race? For example, rather than saying she changes her societies, consider saying something like...hm... "Now, with war imminent, [name] has one chance to save her people from extinction." Still a bit cheesy, but...just an idea to go with. Vague is fine, since you don't want to spoil the twists, but too vague and its meaningless, you know?

1 person likes this.
  4. GingerCoffee

These are great ideas, thanks. I really do want to get away from cliche but it seems, "change the world forever", is in so many of these short synopses.

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

ditto that...