1. nursemandi

nursemandi New Member

Anyone have any idea's or resources for making money writing?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by nursemandi, Sep 7, 2012.

I'll start by saying that I have a full time job that has decent pay but I'm always broke. I am finding that a second income would be amazing right now. I have read online that writing jobs do exist. I did find one site that interested me but it cost's money. I'm in no position to spend money to make money right now. I am not published, and I have no experience or degree in professional writing, though I have done a lot of writing that has had good reviews from friends.

Any info on the following would be helpful:

*Writing articles of interest. Topics that I would be able to write well about would be :The effects of bullying and or abuse, finding yourself through the blows life deals you, changing yourself for the better, loving who you are, understanding others, pets, theraputic activities, overcoming addictions, or working in the medical field.

*Getting some of my work published.

*Writing creativley in any way shape or form.

I need to find somethingg that costs no money to get started in, will bring in some money, and accepts newbies.

Thank you for your time.

Amanda.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Good luck. Yes, there are writing jobs that can pay a living wage, but even they are difficult to get without credentials - a degree might help, but a portfolio of sold pieces and some recommendations from within the industry are far better.

What you are looking for, many others are too, and the number of openings is not large.

3. nursemandi

nursemandi New Member

Thank you. Any tips on putting together a portfolio and where to go?

4. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor