1. jesscatlady

jesscatlady New Member

missing person/suspected murder/law enforcement activity?

Discussion in 'Research' started by jesscatlady, Feb 27, 2015.

Hello!

I have no knowledge of legal things, so that's why I am here :)

My MC is in NY state, but lives in PA. While in NY, he abducts a teenager and later murders them. The MC doesn't return home to house house in PA. The MCs daughter expects him to be back home at the end of the weekend, so she does not expect anything strange while he is away.

How long would it take for law enforcement to pick up on this? Also, what would happen after they believe there is a missing person or suspected murder case?

I am imagining a timeline something like this:

Abduction happens Friday night.
    Teenage victim's family reports him missing by Saturday night.
    Local NY police begin scanning security tapes and see MC's car and search his license plate info.
    (No footage of him actually abducting the teenager.. but MC is now a suspect)
    Local NY police inform PA police of the situation.
    PA police go to MC's house to bring him in for questioning, but he is not there.
    PA police inform MC's daughter that a detective will be coming by the next morning to investigate their house.

Does this sound logical and realistic?

Thank you!!!

2. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

Seems reasonable to me, once you've filled in the details (what security tapes were scanned, and why does his presence make him a suspect, among others). Be sure to have the detective arrive with a search warrant.

3. Jack Asher

Jack Asher Banned Contributor

Hmmm. I'm not sure if the county they're in has a search and rescue. Oh wait, I can internet. Yes, all of New York has.