1. Lorravan

Lorravan Member

"I love being motivated!"

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lorravan, Apr 9, 2013.

Greetings all,

I am a fellow writer (not professional) looking to get myself out of a motivational slump. I've been writing on and off for the past few years (starting and never finishing) and I'm hoping that joining a writing forum will get me motivated to start writing again as I have been very neglecting of my word count for the past few years. My proudest accomplishment was getting a 40k word story cranked out during nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month) of 2008. Surprisingly, when I re-read my story a few months back, I still found myself somewhat proud of it and wanted to try editing it and perhaps making it longer. I have never published anything outside of my high school news paper, but would really like to try writing fiction and getting at least ONE book published. If any of you guys have any advice for getting past that motivational block (the voice that says "dude, this sucks. Stop writing,"), it would be greatly appreciated. I have lots of questions about various things relating to writing, reading, publishing, etc., so I hope to get a chance to talk to a few of you guys later.

-Lorravan
    (I apologize if my grammar is a bit off. I'm a bit rusty, but itching to get back in the ring. Also sorry for all the parenthesis. ))(())())())

2. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

Welcome!
    I find some of the best motivation is when I've read a published book that is horrible and I think, "I could write something better than this!"

All you have to do is keep trying.

3. Lorravan

Lorravan Member

Thanks chicagoliz! That actually sounds like a good idea haha

4. Rebel Yellow

Rebel Yellow Active Member

Being a member of a community such as this one will help you get motivated. It's also a good idea to pick a book on writing novels.

5. Lorravan

Lorravan Member