1. nile mind

nile mind New Member

Writing Career Options

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by nile mind, May 1, 2011.

Hello to all. I'm thinking of choosing writing as a profession. It's not yet final. I just don't know what are my options. I'm still a high school student and thinking of what course in college will I take.

I like writing, for my intention of sharing my ideas to the world someday, but I think, I'm not a good writer, I just have the desire for it, in my present condition.

I just want to know what are my college course options related to writing. I've often heard a course like journalism, but, I'm not more inclined to news events as it is related, as far as I know. If you know other courses, sub-options for journalism, or even a career outside school related to writing, I will appreciate to know it.

2. arron89

arron89 Banned

If you want to write about your ideas, maybe take philosophy and go down the academic route. You'll have to teach classes, but you'll also be expected to publish regularly in your field, so you'll be (at least in part) a professional writer.

3. nile mind

nile mind New Member

I'm not very familiar of college scenarios. There are many things/terms I do not understand.

I think philosophy is a kind of subject on college(I'm interested on that), and the academic route you are suggesting implies a profession of a teacher, to me. Have I understood it correctly?

If in case, I will choose another profession unrelated to writing, and I want to write or publish my work, is it possible? If that would be the case, do you know what are the steps to publish a book?

4. TheSpiderJoe

TheSpiderJoe New Member