1. gina

gina Member

I struggle for words when i write

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by gina, Aug 28, 2015.

I'm a descriptive writer, or at least I want to be. I find myself struggling for words on my first drafts. It's almost like my first draft has to be perfect and use vivid imagery. I'd like to write a novel but am afraid it would take forever to finish because of this perfectionism. Do you typically just write what comes to mind on your first draft then revise later and add in the descriptive language?

2. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

I'm the same way. I feel like half the time I'm repeating myself with 'I felt like...' or 'My x did xyz...', 'I felt x', etc. I try to write the first draft knowing it's supposed to suck, but my perfectionism still crop up at any given moment.

3. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributing Member Contributor

I'm not a perfectionist in the first draft phase, I let the story come out pretty much the way it wants to. I do almost all my description during revision. In fact, my first drafts are quite naked in that way, they tell the story and not much else. That's why I spend more time on revision than writing it in the first place, but for me this is what works best and I actually like that part of the process. For me revision is almost more creative than first draft writing. :)

Last edited: Aug 28, 2015
  4. OurJud

OurJud Contributing Member Contributor

I envy those who can just write and not worry because they know it's only a first draft. I'm another perfectionist, I'm afraid, which is why it takes me about four hours to get 1,000 words down.

To answer your question, yes, ideally you would just 'get it down', but nothing is set in concrete. Do what works for you - the end result will still be the same whatever method you use.

5. peachalulu

peachalulu Contributing Member Reviewer Contributor