1. Godot

Godot New Member

I submitted my story in a contest does this ruin my chance at publication

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Godot, Jul 7, 2013.

Hello,

I am a new user. I have been lurking here over the past few days and came across some damaging info :( Such as entering a novel in a contest is considered publication and I would only be offered a reprint.

The thing about my situation is that I entered my novel in a competition 6 years ago; and it was only a 50 page short story. I was still a student in high school. (not sure if that makes any difference) Technically it is a sequel to the unfinished novel that I have been working on; on and off for the past ten years.

Too keep it short. The novel in its currently form is vastly different. Different genre, different themes, ideas and characters.

Pretty much the short story I entered into a competition six years ago is a sequel to an unfinished novel. Does this effect my chance of publication?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Was it visible to the public, either as a posted entry or a isplayed winner? If so, you may have blown your publication chances with that story

3. Godot

Godot New Member

Honestly I do not know. My teacher made the submission and I received a letter a few months later stated that I did not win.

4. Krishan

Krishan Active Member

Entering a novel into a contest is in no way publication. The only situation I can imagine where entering your story in a contest would be an obstacle to publication is if the entire thing was then posted online or printed in a book by the contest organisers. This generally doesn't happen.