1. Connor_D

Connor_D New Member

Useful/ Fun Creative Writing Exercises?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Connor_D, Dec 6, 2011.

Hi everyone,

I am a teacher who is looking to set up a creative writing group for the kids in my school. I've been looking around on the internet for ideas for fun things I can do with them that can also improve their writing (both poetry and prose) and was wondering if any of you had any ideas.

The kids are 11-16 years old and not necessarily hugely into creative writing which I why I want to make the exercises as fun, and as little like classwork, as possible.

I would welcome any ideas that anyone had.

Thanks a lot!

Connor

2. FoxPaw

FoxPaw New Member

You could try the Round Robin approach.

Student sit in a select number (five, for example). Student starts up stories and write for a set amount of time. Then when the time's up, they pass their paper one person to the right, and then that student continues the story however they want, adding whatever they want. This continues until it's passed back to the original owner and they get to read what everyone's written for their story.

Good luck with your student creative writing group! I wish I had that back in my school. =)

3. Yoshiko

Yoshiko Contributor Contributor

In my last year of high school I had a creative writing class every Tuesday and one day we were given this as an exercise: