1. GoldenFeather

GoldenFeather Active Member

If I can get published on my own, is it still a good idea to get an agent?

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by GoldenFeather, Sep 7, 2012.

I'm relatively new to this publishing business, so bear with me.

I have completed my first novel and am looking to get it published. I am having trouble finding ways to submit it to publishing houses, and I am not familiar with query letters (who requires it) or even finding publishing companies who are looking.

Does an agent make this process easier? Do they find publishing houses (and good ones) that are looking for your specific genre?

Do they have resources that we cannot find ourselves?

I am debating whether or not to get an agent to help me with the process. I don't want to give 10% of book sales to someone if I can do everything myself.

In the event that my work does get published, does an agent continue to promote it and work on getting it into different book stores?

I'm sure these questions are obvious to most of you, but this is a first time for me, so I would appreciate any advice. Thank you so much!

2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Queries are required by agents - I'm not sure what a publisher requires if you're submitting directly to them. But many big and good publishing houses won't accept "unsolicited manuscripts" - eg. MSs that are not represented by an agent. I believe having an agent as a go-between is the norm, at least for the reputable houses. But yes there're publishing houses that don't require an agent too.