1. Kathy_N

Kathy_N New Member

Im a student in need of help!!

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Kathy_N, Apr 1, 2007.

Im suppose to write a friendly letter to the faculty and staff at my school about myself,my academics, and so forth on about me to be the boy/girl of the year --
    but how to start off is a difficult thing for me so i came here in search of a tutor/helper to guide me through my writing ect.

so please help!!!!!!!!

and oh yeah this is due by tuesday<<--- this coming tuesday =_='

2. Ferret

Ferret Contributing Member

The parts of your soul you refuse to recognize.
  3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributing Member Contributor

Friendly letter implies that it is to be somewhat informal, as opposed to a scholarship application.

In the absence of any previous lessons on the expected structure/content details of a friendly letter, attack the task the same way you would an essay. Introduce yourself in the first paragraph, mentioning the three target areas.

Next paragraphs, expand upon the three listed target areas.

Last paragraph summarize.

Don't forget the closing (Sincerely, and the signature, the greetings at the top etc.)

Try to get a first draft out today, so that you have a day to come back and revise it Monday.

That's the best advice I can give with the information on the assignment presented.

Terry

4. Evelyn

Evelyn Senior Member

Just to get started, you might try writing a friendly letter as if to another student like yourself (say, like your best friend's old best friend from where she used to live, who's coming to visit and wants to meet you ---
    or something like that :)

(After you've gotten through the first draft, you can change mood and wording from:

"Hi, I'm Kathy!...."

to:

"Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

Thank you for considering me for Boy/Girl Of The Year. My name is Kathy N___ ...")

I'd include your name, age, and a note about where and with whom you live ('rents, sibs, & pets).