1. Pisces21

Pisces21 Member

Philosophical narrative?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Pisces21, Jan 19, 2014.

Hey everyone!
    For those who read my introduction back in December, I am a short story writer (primarily) and I consider myself to be a "pioneer" of sorts in a genre I like to call *clears throat* philosophical narrative! (Vive le Philo-Sophia!) Now, I find these words to be self explanatory when it comes to a genre ( and we may discuss whether this is truly a genre) but what exactly comes to your mind when I say I write "philosophical narrative" short stories? Does this genre sound appealing to you? What's an example of a short-story, book, movie, TV show, etc. that uses this heavily or could be classified under this elusive genre?

Boger likes this.
  2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Thomas Mann's Magic Mountain comes to mind. That's the only novel I can think of at the moment. I think the term for such kinds of books is called "novel of ideas" or something along those lines.

Honestly, I don't see the story story being a good format for this because philosophical ideas take many pages to fully develop and explore. Of course, there are short stories that are based on philosophical ideas, such as Ursula Le Guin's "The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas," but I don't think that's what you're talking about here.

It'd be great if you could expand on the idea of a philosophical narrative for me just so I can make sure I'm understanding you correctly.

3. Billaferd

Billaferd New Member

When I hear "Philosophical Narrative" my mind goes directly to something like Greek mythology with a hint of grim fairy tales. I don't deal much with the soft sciences so the only thing I can think of off hand is maybe Chicken Soup for the Soul.

Somehow though, I think you define it differently.

4. iPatrick

iPatrick New Member