1. Picaroon

Picaroon Banned

I'm in love with my own character, help!

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Picaroon, Nov 26, 2013.

Seriously, is that weird? I'm fairly new to writing and have heard that characters can start to take on a life of their own, but I always thought it was rubbish. But suddenly I find myself excited and nervous about an upcoming date that my protagonist has with a shy but very pretty crêperie girl.

I'm not kidding, I actually enjoy her company! She's sneaking into too many scenes and threatening my plot structure. Am I a narcissist? Am I crazy?

Just wondering if anyone can relate :)

2. Laze

Laze Active Member

You're not a narcissist, you just sound insane. :rolleyes: Kidding. Not really, you're a weirdo.

Is she based off any memories of a girl you've met or dated? That could make sense if you're digging into deep memories every time you write about this character.

3. obsidian_cicatrix

obsidian_cicatrix I ink, therefore I am. Contributor

My novel was very fluid for a long time. As I got to know my characters, the story started to reveal itself. It's a very different story than the one I planned on telling. I'm really pleased but for one thing. The first character I worked on (not the protagonist but an important character nonetheless) has had to undergo a complete character assassination in order to join the dots. He couldn't just flip, I basically had to completely rewrite him. He's not the person he used to be and I miss him.

I get where you are coming from. I would be wary of giving her more page space than she's due though, unless it is in keeping with how you want your story to play out.

jannert likes this.
  4. Picaroon

Picaroon Banned

Hi!

Actually no, but I suppose I did subconsciously create my ideal woman. Attractive, flirtatious, and quiet. :)