1. hedonist

hedonist New Member

Total newbie & confused

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hedonist, Aug 10, 2012.

Hi everyone,
    I'm new here and new to writing. In fact until a short while ago I didn't really have the desire to take up writing to express myself but some things have been going on in my personal life that made me think that I might have a story to tell.

Basically here's my dilemma - English is not my native language, as I grew up bilingually, so it is in fact my third language. But for many years now I've been living in an English speaking environment and as such no longer feel comfortable expressing myself in my native languages; only English. I hope that I can effectively write down the story I'm developing currently. However, I worry that I might confuse readers with my language use; in school we learnt British English, but I worry that I was at the time heavily influenced by Hollywood/American TV Dramas and picked up a lot of words & phrases from there. To complicate matters further, I spent some time in Asia - communicating in English with the locals but again a different "flavour" has rubbed off on me. Now I'm in the UK and I assume I will have picked up some more typical vocabulary/slang, some of it without even noticing. In short, now when I meet someone new, they can never quite tell from my accent where I'm from.

Is this going to be a problem? If so, what do I do about it? Read more books written in the style or setting that I want to emulate for my own story?

Also, since I never really had an interest in creative writing before, I don't remember anything relevant that we were taught in school. How important is it to follow "the rules"? Having read a certain hugely popular trilogy recently which I found to be quite badly written for various reasons, it seems that things may not be as strict as they once were? Or is that just the famous exception to the rule?