1. AmbzM

AmbzM New Member

Im new to writing and I am feeling very nervous

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AmbzM, Oct 15, 2016.

Hi everyone! :)

I have to say I think if id told myself a few years ago that I would find out that I have a passion for words and writing, I don't think I would have believed it. I got a lot of grief off teachers when I was younger for my spelling and for writing different words to the ones I was thinking. I found out when I was 22 that I was dyslexic.

I think if I am completely honest that due to not feeling confident with my writing, spelling and grammar, it has definitely prevented me from doing things i've wanted to do in the past. I am now 28 and something recently changed my way of thinking about what I am capable of. I found something I wanted to achieve and I told myself failure wasn't an option. I manage to teach myself computer programming skills, and in under two years (knowing nothing other than how to do the basic things on a computer before hand), i managed to teach myself enough skills which enabled me to get myself a job as a Junior Web Developer.

After setting myself and goal and managing to achieve it due to never giving up, I have now told myself my new goal to to improve my grammar, writing and spelling. As I am a very creative person, I cant think of a better way for me to achieve this than through creative writing. So I am a beginner of all beginners. :)

Thank you for reading my post! Constructive criticism is welcomed with my writing by the way! (Don't be mean though please).

2. MusingWordsmith

MusingWordsmith Shenanigan Master Contributor

First of all, welcome! (Says the person who's only been here two days herself. XD) I may be new to the forum, but I'm not so new to writing. Been writing on and off for as long as I can remember (mostly off though, if I'm to be completely honest).