1. claire_h

claire_h New Member

Initial conflict

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by claire_h, Feb 26, 2012.

Hi everybody!

I have aead a few books about writing a novel (I am a newbie). I have worked out the overall theme and premise of the book, and roughly how I want the first chapter to go. However my MC has no 'conflict' yet. All the advice I have seen so far points that they must be in the middle of some great personal crisis to make it interesting. Basically MC arrives at a stately home and the conflict comes later when he arrive falls in love with MC2, gradually over a the first few chapters, which then leads to huge conflict. He isn't particularly conflicted when he first arrives though!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. AntisocialMoose

AntisocialMoose New Member

Hiya!

I first want to say that you can, and possibly should, have more than one conflict. There are all kinds of conflicts in a story. You can have central conflict (falling in love with MC2) but you should have some smaller conflict, possibly related to or not at all related to the central conflict.

For example, does he want to go to the stately home? Does it put any of his current life plans out of balance? Does he hate anyone else who is there? Is he terrified of heights, but has to stay in the room in the highest part of the house? Give him SOME conflict to make things interesting, even if it's a minor one. Something to draw us in. It could be as small as the conflict of getting him to the house.

I have trouble with this as well, the idea that you should immediately have a life change at the beginning.. Yes, there should be change, but unless you're writing in medias res you won't be in the middle of the biggest conflict available to you.

You just need something more interesting than his normal activities.

3. claire_h

claire_h New Member

Thanks!