1. cyruseli

cyruseli New Member

Where to go from here?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by cyruseli, Apr 22, 2010.

I am in the process of writing my first ever full length novel. I've written lots of short stories that I am happy with (okay, three that I am actually happy with, and lots of bad ones), but I want to write something with some length to it. My minimum goal is 200 pages in microsoft word single spaced, which would be a lot more pages in novel size.

Anyways, I have been writing chapter outlines for each chapter before I do any actual writing. I've never done it this way before but it is a really awesome to be able to get everything laid out before putting a lot of time into writing. The problem I'm coming up with is where to go from where I am at. I have characters figured out I just don't know how to resolve the conflict. So I thought maybe if I post a super short chapter outline here I could get some brainstorming of what endings you might see.

The story is called Veils, is a horror story, and is written with each chapter being from a different character's perspective trading off between the protagonist and antagonist until a third character is introduced later. So here goes...

1 - A "monster" awakens within the antagonist as he makes his first kill
    2 - The protagonist does a lot of inward thinking after a date with yet another girl he cares a lot for, but knows will go nowhere.
    3 - The inward thinking antagonist chapter, pretty much. Shows that he can go to work and maintain a perfectly normal existence amongst the public while harboring horrible thoughts and committing terrible things.
    4 - Not necessarily important to the plot but builds up the protagonist.