1. LexStorm

LexStorm Member

How to Create Sub Plots in a Journey type Story?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by LexStorm, Sep 23, 2018.

Hi, this is my first time posting on the forums board. I need help.

I'm in the process of outlining my novel, and have developed the beginning, end goals, and overall end of the story pretty well. However I've come to find my biggest weakness is creating the middle. I know where my characters are journeying to, and I know what's going to happen when they get there, but I don't know what they'll come across on their way.

So my question is, what should you generally aim for in creating road blocks for your heroes on their journey? All I can think of at the moment is maybe throwing a villain in to track them down, or having them run into a village going through problems and stop to help them. However both of which seem a bit boring and could get repetitive fast. I've been stuck on this for a while. Any tips?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Is there a specific reason why you can't just jump to the end of the journey? Do you want the journey for character development, relationship development, seeing the setting, slowly feeding the reader with bits of information about the plot....?

3. LexStorm

LexStorm Member

Honestly, all of the above. My story is going to start off with two characters journeying together because their duties intertwine their fate to basically, and I want to show their relationship growing while adding more characters to the party overtime. And I do want to show off the world more during their journey as it is a fantasy world.

4. DeeDee

DeeDee Contributor Contributor