1. BlueSun

BlueSun New Member

Beginner-Need help!

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by BlueSun, Aug 24, 2010.

I'm sure my concerns are common and I'll bet I'm not the first to ask...but here goes:

Generally, I'm a good writer. I majored in journalism in college and have always been good at expressing ideas through writing. I am not, however, good at punctuation, spelling, and so forth. I'm always uncertain of rules and frankly have no interest in learning them. I'm being honest.

My husband died recently and left me with two children to raise. There is an interesting story there about our life together before his death. It is pouring out of me right now. I don't know what it will become but should I decide to submit it for publishing, I wouldn't know where to begin. If there is a good story on paper, but lots of mechanical errors, will a publisher automically turn it away? In other words, does a publisher expect perfection in a submitted manuscript? What if I don't have the skills or knowledge but have a great story?

At this point in my life, I'm really not interested in joining a writing class or studying a writing book. I'm just getting all the thoughts and ideas out right now.

How do "non-professional" writers get their stories out into the world?

Thank you for reading and your advice is appreciated.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

If your manuscript is laden with technical errors, the publishers will reject it. You must deliver a well-written, thoroughly proofread manuscript.

It isn't easy to get published. It will take a lot of practice and hard work, and a fair amount of luck as well. Persistence pays off, but you will need a good supply of it.

But the first thing to do is write your story. You can refine it when it is down on paper (or on disk), but that is the first step.