1. Drew78

Drew78 New Member

Is a Writing Career Path Exactly like Any Other?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Drew78, Nov 27, 2011.

Hello, it’s been a while since I’ve been on any forums. I’ve been back to writing again, and I’m really enjoying it. A few of my short stories have recently been published, and I’m very excited to finally say I’m a published writer. I’ve also written two novels, but they are not published.

So my question for the published writers more experienced than I am is this: Is a career in writing, while seemingly impossible or at least improbably, actually much like any other career path?

For example, some of my short stories have been published by literary journals that do not pay. Perhaps now I can use those publishing credits to get more work published. Eventually after being published a dozen or so times, perhaps I can get something published at some journals that pay token fees. Then after a few times of doing that, I can try for journals that pay substantial amounts. (By “substantial amounts” I mean a few hundred dollars.) Then, perhaps agents and publishers would be more likely to consider my work. After having some success with a small publisher, perhaps larger ones would consider my work.

This is how most career paths work. A new employee fresh out of school begins his work in the mail room and retires as a department manager, vice president, or executive. Starting out as an executive, though, is rare.

So my question is whether or not I’m on the right track here. I never really liked writing short stories until I started seeing them as a way of getting publishing credits. (I actually enjoy writing them now.) What is your view on the career path of a writer? While some may be able to jump right to being a successful novelist overnight, I would think that most of us mere mortals might do better following a more traditional path and career plan. What is your view?

Drew

2. thirdwind