1. Bob Stuart

Bob Stuart New Member

Novel A question according; how i write my novel.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Bob Stuart, Dec 8, 2011.

I am currently writing a novel. A post-apocalyptic fiction, if you interested in knowing. It doesn't really have anything to do with the question. I am actually wondering about something. In the novel I have choosen to each chapter start with a "journal entry" from the MC.

The story is written in third-person (narrative form). And the journal entries are written in I-form (first person). Is that okay or just very confusing for the reader because and "is it okay?". I have never written a novel before and I am very fresh.

I can post a few sentences from the first chapter if you like, if you don't understand what I mean. :)

2. Midnight_Adventurer

Midnight_Adventurer Active Member

Hi MassThinker!

I don't see any real problem with that idea, I kind of like it, just as long as you make a clear connection between the diary entries and your MC. The best way to see if it works is to just write. If you do get a little concerned or want our opinion then posting an excerpt in the novel thread would be the way to go.

I hope that helps. Good luck! :)

3. Bob Stuart

Bob Stuart New Member

Thanks for the answer. It's kinda clear since he always leaves a / his name after each entry.
    I have been a member here for a couple of days now. I am not yet allowed to post any works. *sadface*

4. Jhunter

Jhunter Mmm, bacon. Contributor

The journal entries have to be in first person. Otherwise they make no sense.

But as far as using both, there is absolutely not problem with it at all. You are making the correct decision to use both in this case.

5. Jhunter

You can fix that by going in and reviewing a few things other people have done. It will only take a couple of hours at the most.

6. Midnight_Adventurer

Midnight_Adventurer Active Member