1. Malo Beto

Malo Beto New Member

Advice for a New Writer

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Malo Beto, May 6, 2011.

Im pretty new to writing. Ive written several short stories just for me and my friends but thats it. Now I'm looking to write something a bit more serious. I generally like to write fantasy and Im just looking for advice of any type people would be willing to give me... Thanks.

2. katica

katica New Member

The first and most important thing I've learned about writing is that you don't get anything done with writing and you're not actually serious about it unless you sit down and do it on a very consistent basis. I aim for once a day, but a few times a week is plenty good.

3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Read (in your genre and outside of it).
    Write consistently.
    Read.

4. JimFlagg

JimFlagg New Member

Listen to your heart and your muse. If it is a story that must be told then do it no matter what any one says.

I know corny but always do what your heart says. Never let success or failure dictate your writing.

Also, read read and read some more. By using forums such as this one, the internet and reading other books to see how they did it; will give you the tools you need to tell your story. Good Luck and may your muse never fail you.

5. Leatherworth Featherfist

Leatherworth Featherfist New Member

Do not come to a blank page lightly. Like katica said, if you are serious about writing then consistent practice is ideal. When I say "don't come to a blank page lightly" I don't mean that you shouldn't write if you don't have anything to write about, I just mean that no matter what you are writing, even if you are just doodling, you should keep in mind that you are a writer and the blank page is your domain.

I know that that first part wasn't really advice, it was more of a philosophy.
    But, one piece of advice that I can offer is: just make a mess.