1. United

United Member

Is it normal to self-doubt?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by United, Nov 11, 2014.

I'm a first time author (working on my first work). I'm constantly filled with self-doubt and thoughts like "Ugh...is anyone even going to buy my work?" or "I'm risking so much to finish this book. Will it be worth it? Will I regret becoming a writer/author?", etc.

Is all this normal? Or am I just being paranoid and negative about the whole thing? I'm a college student right now, and I'm having a "life crisis" right now because I don't know which path I should take in life. Currently, I'm majoring in mathematics, with an education focus (working to become a math teacher). But ever since I've been enrolled in my creative writing class this semester, it's like I've had an epiphany and revelation about my life's purpose now. Some of my friends have told me that I should just just keep writing as a hobby, but I don't want it to be a hobby. If I write, then I truly would want to do it full-time and become a full-time author (that's why I haven't been doing so well in my classes because of this dilemma ---- I can't even focus in my math/logical-reasoning classes). I'm already a junior in college and I have devoted these past 3 years into my math education, but now it really does seem, for the second time in my life, that I have found my 'true calling'.

I know this isn't a 'therapy' forum, but I'm pretty sure some of you may have experienced with with writing, etc. I just want to know what you think or what you have experienced. Thoughts/suggestions/advice?

2. plothog

plothog Contributing Member Supporter Contributor

I would be inclined to say at this point in your life you should treat writing as a hobby, albeit a hobby which you take seriously and have long term aspirations of turning into a job.