1. waitingforzion

waitingforzion Banned

I'm not sure about writing reviews

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by waitingforzion, Jan 9, 2011.

I know that before I can submit a work for review, I have to review two works, but I I'm not sure how I can write reviews. I don't feel qualified to critique anyone's work; I'm the one that needs critique. And even if I do critique, I know I'll be displeased with a lot of the works, because to me if they sound too common or too lazily worded (even though my own diction is worse), if I compare them with Charles Dickens and even someone like J.K. Rowling, I'm going to feel awkward reading it. I don't want to offend anyone; I know I'm not even that good, but if I read, “It was a dark and stormy night.” I'm going feel as if it were a corny joke or something. I won't like it.

2. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

Feel free to pick on mine - I value a readers opinion, what you did or did not like etc. Afterall as a writer I am useless without readers. I tend to put less than well tended early drafts up so they are relatively easy to pick apart, my punctuation stinks and I stuggle with tenses when I am writing third person and attempting past tense lol

No I am not JK Rowling or Charles Dickens not even close - plus my work hasn't been edited, proof read etc by others. We are all here to grow and critiquing others work helps because it gives you confidence working through your own.

3. Islander

Islander Contributor Contributor

I don't think it makes much difference if a work is good or bad when you critique it. The point of a critique is not to assess the writing as a whole; it is to point out the flaws, no matter how large or small they are. As a writer, what one needs is not to have one's work graded on a scale from one to ten, but to get specific information on what doesn't work and why.