1. cazann34

cazann34 Active Member

Tips on poetry

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by cazann34, Feb 28, 2013.

I'd like to try my hand at poetry but I'm a complete novice. I tried writing poetry years ago but wasn't very good at it I just seem to lose the flow/rhythm. Any suggestions?

Here's an example of something I wrote a while ago but can't move it on any:

Medieval

This is a tale from long ago
    before you and me and all you know
    Back to a time when magic was rife and fear abound

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

I can recommend giving the Stephen Fry book Ode Less Travelled a read. If gives you a a good amount of information in writing poetry in Fry's typical wit. It's a good book. Also, see some of the criticism on this very site. You can pick up a lot from those too. Are you, for example, wanting to know more about iambic and trochaic feet? Images and metaphors? Forms and styles?

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

You should read a lot of poetry. Make sure you don't restrict yourself to Western poetry; there's plenty of good Eastern poets out there. Once you read and study a lot of poetry, you'll develop a sense of what works and what doesn't.

4. SocksFox

SocksFox Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2024 Contest Winner 2023

Break it up, draw the reader's attention. This is the opening stanza, catch them with a mystery and draw them in. If you are aiming for a rhyme scheme, set it early.

This is a tale, of a long ago time
    Back when the world was young.
    The forests green and new.
    A time, when magic, ran rife...
    And fear, it did, abound...

What was the cause of the fear? Just like any writing project, you need a few tenet points...What story are you trying to tell?

5. Lemex