Tags:
  1. Mifio

Mifio Member

Allusions

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Mifio, Aug 27, 2011.

I've always had a problem with my works. I LOVE taking things from other stories or tales I've read or heard. I started planning my current story about a year ago, and even though I actually haven't written anything for it for the past 8 months (I'm pretty sure it's stale by now, I figured I was going to scrap it and start anew, but it has relevance to this topic).

Anyway, on topic.
    My current (former) story turned out to be a long journey. The main character, David, has to cross infected territory (yeah, yeah, zombie novel. It's not kosher, I realize, but I enjoyed writing it for a few months) to reach his Home. Along the way he encounters a myriad of dangers, from both the living and dead, as well as nature.

I started drawing similarities between the Odyssey and my work, to the point where I was naming some of the creatures verbatim from Homer's works, as well as structuring my plot in a very similar way. And I realized that it had to stop. I wasn't alluding to works, I was blatantly copying from them.

So what I want to know is when is the line drawn? Where does Allusion change into stealing? And what are some ways I can allude effectively without being obvious?

Also, on a completely different note, my novel is only 10k words, I'm a slow writer. However, my writing style has changed a great deal since I last added on to it. Should I just continue with the novel anyway and just edit it later? Or scrap it for a new project. I have a few ideas, so it shouldn't be too much trouble.

Thoughts?

2. art

art Contributor Contributor

My advice: give it up and start over. Maybe on it. Maybe on something else.

Difficult to say whether your allusions/ borrowings are beginning to detract from what you're doing, but, if you think it's problematic, it likely is.