Tags:
  1. Ianames

Ianames New Member

Is this scene ridiculous or believable to you?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Ianames, Mar 8, 2015.

Hello everyone,

I'm wondering whether this is cheating (bad writing) or not. I have this scene where this kid fell really high–from the sky. However, he survived. Is that too much of a stretch for my readers. Any tips to make it believable...

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Like, literally from the sky?

What genre are you writing in?

3. Ianames

Ianames New Member

Hi thank you for replying. It's actually a graphic novel. Although I'm an artist, I'm totally new to writing but I do care about good story telling.

It is a science fiction comedy mixed with a slight drama/serious tone for contrast.

Also note, he fell really high—let's just say as high as birds can fly.

4. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

And does the character literally fall from the sky? Where does he come from? How far is the drop?

It would be stretching my willing suspension of disbelief to have him survive the fall, but you can include mitigating factors (some sort of soft landing, etc.) and you can have people in the book express their own disbelief as a way to sort of acknowledge the issue and then move on with the story.

5. Ianames

Ianames New Member

Well, as fast as you possibly can fall

"In very high falls, bodies can reach terminal velocity, the speed at which air resistance becomes so high it cancels out the acceleration due to gravity. Once at terminal velocity, you can fall as far as you like and you won't gather any more speed."

http://www.theguardian.com/science/2004/may/20/thisweekssciencequestions2

Although I know a few people have survived high falls, I understand writing isn't like real life. I'm just getting a feel whether it's a stretch or not.