1. KateInSpace

KateInSpace New Member

Long Term disease/illness

Discussion in 'Research' started by KateInSpace, Nov 19, 2015.

Hi, I'm working on a short story at the moment and I'm trying to develop the Grandfather of my main character. He's in his eighties and it's crucial to the plot that he have a long term illness. My initial thought was cancer, however I have no knowledge of how cancer works as no one in my family has cancer and there are so many different types that I fear my limited research has only confused me further.

I was wondering if anyone knew of an illness or disease that would persist over an 11 year period. The grandfather is ill with this at the time that the main character begins to visit him and about 11 years later he dies from the illness. The tricky part is that the grandfather needs to remain mentally cognizant over the course of those 11 years.

If I'm totally of base with an illness that lasts that long, are there any other long term illnesses (perhaps five or six years) that would behave like that?

Thank you so much in advance. -Kate

I'm new to the site and I hope it will be helpful for me. My brother who is my usual source for writing tips is about to the end of his patience with my questions and I think I might be on a list somewhere because of my google search history.

2. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

There are hadn't diseases and illnesses that function this way. I have a hard time believing you couldn't figure this out via Google, but I'll give some examples anyway.

Parkinson's. My grandfather was diagnosed with it when he was in his fifties and lived very well for the next twenty years. Then he went downhill very suddenly and had to be hospitalized. Despite being literally on his death bed, he was still very aware of what was going on.