1. Dunning Kruger

Dunning Kruger Active Member

First Person Narrative Challenge

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Dunning Kruger, Jan 24, 2015.

I'm an amateur/beginner. I somewhat spontaneously busted out a 1000 words on an idea that is probably beyond my skillset so I am asking for advice on how to proceed should I do so.

The idea is that the entire story be the told by a commuter in his car to and from work. It's a first person narrative told mostly by a solitary individual in his car. It's inspired by Brett Easton Ellis' "American Psycho", specifically the music tangents, and Joan Dideon's "The Year of Magical Thinking", and my own personal commute from hell, which provides some nice anecdotes.

Are there obvious challenges or risks that an experienced writer would be aware of? The biggest one I see so far is it has an episodic feel to it - each chapter is one commute. The second one that comes to mind is the tendency to tell rather than show. Any thoughts about how to structure it? Or should am I better off using it as a writing exercise and holding no greater ambitions for it?

Thanks in advance for any insights.

2. Burlbird

Burlbird Contributor Contributor

Excersise is rather useless without any ambition :)

That said, I feel you should look at what you want to say, what you can say and how you should go on saying it. Constructing any kind of narrative is a challenge even without overthinking the formal part of it. There is really no reason this, or any other idea shouldn't work per se - I know there are going to be others who disagree, but reading experience shows that completely ludicrous and seemingly unworkable premise can form the basis of great fiction. (Yes, and great premises can make horrible books, but that is understandable, right?)