Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Supporter Contributor

John Stuart Mill

Discussion in 'Debate Room' started by Steerpike, Nov 4, 2013.

Hopefully the title to the thread has attracted some philosophers.

In discussions with a friend of mine who is more in favor of government interference in daily life than I am, it came to light that the friend's favorite philosopher is Mill. It's not the first time I've heard Mill invoked from similarly-minded people, typically to justify some government regulation on the grounds of Utilitarianism (greater good).

I'm by no means an expert on Mill, but I thought he was pretty much in favor of letting people do anything they wanted, so long as they didn't harm others, and was in general suspicious about increased government authority. Since we live in a society, I suppose he did see some harm to self as harm to society, but I don't find what I've read of his work (which consists entirely of portions of On Liberty) to be consistent with favoring expansive government regulation, even if it is for our own good (something that I think Mill specifically said was not a valid justification).

Anyone who knows something about Mill want to clarify this? It is quite possible my limited reading of Mill has lead to a misunderstanding, but I'm not yet convinced that is the case.

**FULL DISCLOSURE: Anyone replying with helpful comments should be aware that they're arming me for my next debate over pints with this person**

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

I don't know much about Mill either, but this is just what I understand of it. He and Bentham, the main figures in Utilitarianism, believed in the idea that the end justifies the means. Mill would have been still a Liberal from what I can, but unlike John Locke it seems he would not have been considered much of a Classical Libertarian, which was the happening thing at the time.

3. Steerpike