1. dreamersky1212

dreamersky1212 Active Member

Just a little bit wierd...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dreamersky1212, Jul 25, 2015.

Hello world, it's just me. You may return to your regularly scheduled program now. So...my story. I am 28, I have a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology, minor in Sociology and a job that doesn't use it. I found my passion for writing late. So many writers that I have spoken (written?) to were early bloomers and have now have the distinction of being published authors. That is a fantasy of mine. Actually, I think that I just might pass out if I was ever lucky enough to have one of my novels turned into an audiobook and available on Audible. I just might enter my name in the search bar daily just to stare at it. I am now picturing a beam of light from heaven shining down on my computer screen and a heavenly choir singing as the screen shows that I...me, just little ol' me...have now been published. *Sigh*

Anyway, back to the story. In college I decided to write my first novel in lieu of my Honors Thesis. It was intense, stressful and pretty much the only time in my life that I was certain that this is what I wanted to do.
    However, knowing that I want to be a writer and actually creating a novel good enough to be published are two different things. I gave the whole publishing thing a shot. I sent out about 20 query letters. Yeah I know, most people say 50, but I told myself that if I didn't get a favorable response by 20 then I should take a break from it for a while.