1. Joshlyn

Joshlyn Member

Just Joined-Joshlyn

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Joshlyn, Jun 3, 2014.

Hello, I'm Joshlyn. I just joined the forum today.
    A little about me... I just graduated college w/ a Bachelor's of Arts in Photojournalism and I minored in Creative Writing. I have a strong gift for writing. I never knew much about the creative writing angle, but when I abruptly learned I needed a minor which I wasn't previously aware of I decided to take the Intro to Creative Writing class just to see what it was about. Well guess what, I never took another class to try out anything else as a minor, that one class had me hooked. I realized I just have a natural gift and whether it's journalistic or creative, I'm a writer through and through.

I know every forum has a unique set of their user generated "etiquette" if you will, so I wanted to post a general hello and help thread before anything else.

I've written approximately 10 *keepable* poems, 5 short fiction pieces, and 8 non-fiction, all in my classes, well one poem I wrote today, which was obviously not for a class since I graduated. So all my short fiction are approximately 2,000 words and several of the non-fiction are also approximately 2,000 words while others are under 1,000.

I'm in the process of affording a membership on writing.com. Which if anyone could help me pick which membership would be best that'd be great too. But I'd like to post my work (not all at once, I hate when people flood a forum because they'renew), and get some outsider feedback. Mind you these have all been read and I've received constructive critiques of them in their respective classes which were almost all workshop style. But almost no one outside of those classes, which were often a lot of the same people, have really read and given feedback on my work.

Immediately I'm interested in revising the poem I wrote today. So should I go ahead and go under the poetry tab and post it?