1. thatguy

thatguy Member

Study, write or both?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by thatguy, Jul 11, 2011.

I'll be the first to admit that I'm a very amateur writer, but I’m very enthusiastic about improving myself as quickly as possible. I dropped out of school very early, and though I took some correspondence English courses, I was never taught Creative Writing by any traditional means.

So from experience, what has helped you guys more? Creative writing classes and seminars and reading books on writing, or just writing? Or a healthy dose of both?

Also, can anyone recommend any must read books on the craft, or suggest any online courses? I’ve read a few articles here and there, on this forum and off, but I’m looking for something I can really sink my teeth into, where I can relearn the basics and build from the ground up. I’m willing to pay a reasonable amount for any online courses.

Going back through the traditional school system is out of the question, I’m afraid.

2. Eunoia

Eunoia Contributor Contributor

I think creative writing classes can be a bit hit and miss. Some will be good, some won't be. I'm currently doing a degree in Creative Writing and it has really helped my writing. The workshopping of each other's works in particular is invaluable.

As for reading books on writing, I'd say read a few but not too many. It's more important to read the genre of what you're writing, then reading about how to write - you can learn that by the former.

I think there has to be a balance. You should read and write frequently, but it is also important to get constructive criticism regularly too whether that is from a course or forming your own writing group.

3. SeverinR

SeverinR New Member

Ihaven't been able to take a writing class(can't afford it), haven't found any writing groups, so I follow at least four creative writing forums(probably more, but four is the ones I regularly visit.)
    The (4)websights have some aspect I like, that the others don't.