1. Tim Ryan

Tim Ryan New Member

Just Starting Out

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Tim Ryan, Mar 8, 2012.

Hello everyone,

I am new to this site and new to writing in general. I never have written or had any formal education in writing. I only have had an idea and a passion to one day put that idea on paper for others to read. I never thought it would ever materialize into anything but recently, I took an enormous step and started a blog that I self published about my character. I am looking for any and all advice on how to eventually turn this idea into the novel I've dreamed of and get it published.

2. Bryce

Bryce New Member

I am also a new writer but not to the point I haven't written published anything beore. I am working on my first full length novel (its my third, maybe fourth try though.)

I think you should start writing a story figuring out how will begin and how it will end. Once you have the basics down, details will fall into place. Maybe you don't know how your story will end yet. If thi is the case, ask yourself these questions:

What are my protagonists
    what are my antagonits
    what will the theme be (what lesson will be learned)
    how to i use my characters to proove that lesson to be true or false
    at what point will my characters tension be the highest
    what relation do my characters have
    how do my characters show likeable/dislikeable traits (a reader has to like your characters, or dislike the enemies. without an emotional connection felt by you and your readers, the story will never be read the way you intended)

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Start writing the actual novel. That's the only way to make your dream come true. Also be sure to read a lot to see how other writers deal with characters, setting, etc.

4. Tim Ryan

Tim Ryan New Member