1. MrMidnight

MrMidnight Member

Building a beleivable set of characters

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by MrMidnight, Apr 24, 2014.

Hey all, I am still a noob by all means so any criticism or critique is greatly welcome.

I am brainstorming for some of the characters of my story, which are the following:

1. Protagonist: A rookie cop, about to be released from his training officer to operate as a lone officer on a rotation or "shift". He has mounds of potential, but has had a history of not finishing what he starts (college, projects, relationships,etc.). He also lacks experience. He is an athletic, sharp individual, but is very critical of himself which leads to him questioning his decisions at times.

2. Antagonist: The rookie's first sergeant, he is a gruff, silent no B.S. kinda guy that doesn't make any attempt to connect personally with anyone and is very stand-offish. He was in a horrific on the job shooting 15 years prior that is related to the main "bad guy". He is very critical of the main character and abrasive, and while they are on the same side, he tends to interfere with the Protagonists actions at times.

3. "Bad Guy" - The former Sheriff, who was arrested 15 years prior, has been recently released on parole and has returned to his home town. Despite his record and heavy surveillance, he still has connections to the drug world as well as new connections he has formed in prison. Despite his age, he is more dangerous than before.

4. Father of Protagonist: A retired cop from a previous era when policing was done "differently". He now runs a small gunsmithing shop and was towards the prime of his career when the former Sheriff was brought down. He will be the vehicle that helps the Protagonist connect the present to the past, and will be the way I connect the "bad guy" to other characters (through the fathers memories).