1. Michael Allan

Michael Allan New Member

Political Slogan

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Michael Allan, Feb 17, 2008.

(apologies for cross-posting)

I'm an open-source developer working in the area of social and collaborative media. (Hello again.) I am seeking advice on the wording of a political slogan.

By way of explanation, I've been working with project textbender to develop recombinant text. It's a collaborative medium for poetry, creative writing, musical composition, and so forth. But it also has socio-political applications. These are being explored in a sister project, Votorola:

I am working on a political slogan (of sorts), in order to express the purpose of 'open elections'. Here is what I have, so far:

(Phew!) This summarizes the design purpose of open elections, well enough. It also roughly paraphrases Jurgen Habermas's critical theory of society (communicative action), which happens to inform the design. But, as it stands, it's not very inspiring... Are there any wordsmiths who could help? Can anyone suggest improvements?

(Note: The collaborative tools under development for policy and legislative drafting will also be applicable to creative art. As they're developed, they'll be released to creative artists, too.)

What do you think?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

that's way too wordy to be any kind of 'slogan'... you must distill your premise down to bumper sticker size, if it's to be effective...

what i get from all that is you want something like:

control the government, not the people

or:

governments should be controlled, not people

or:

people should control the government, not vice versa

...hope that gives you some useful ideas...

love and hugs, maia [a firm believer in the concept!]

3. Michael Allan

Michael Allan New Member

Mammamaia, you're right. For bumper stickers, then:

Tame the machine.​

And if an inquisitive reporter wants an elaboration, we give her the sound bite: