1. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

Are you good with names?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jazzabel, Jan 9, 2012.

Not being able to choose a suitable name for a major character (or characters) - is it a common problem, or is it a sign of deeper issues with writing?

I’ve tried everything - baby names sites and books, trying to invent one, go with the simplest common ones, still it feels as if none of the names ever fit. This happens both when I am totally inspired as well as when I have a writer’s block. So I name the characters in the end but I am never completely happy with it.
    Right now, I am trying to name a female protagonist and it's been going on for months. I have used several names during writing, just so that I can keep track (and also test them out) and no luck.

In all this, I am not good with names at the best of times - I can never decide what would be best to call a baby, or a dog, or which nick to choose on the net.

I would love to know your experiences with naming the characters - are you great at it or do you also struggle?

2. Bob Stuart

Bob Stuart New Member

Sage, Constance, Harry Potter the protagonist ' he he '. Try making a name up that ends with nist maybe as in (protago-nist). I have problems too naming my charactares. It can be very troubling sometimes, since you want that 'clinging' with the personality. You should keep on looking for something meaningful. I recently found a good name for my most recent charactare, he's the protagonist. I named him, Max Alexander Reed.

I ended up naming one charactare which is kinda crazy for Zed Zhane, since he's kinda insane.

3. KinkyCousin

KinkyCousin New Member

I have huge trouble being satisfied with names :D I think I have finally settled on my MC's name after many years of changes in my head but other characters are not so lucky.

4. Felipe

Felipe Active Member