1. Aviandalek

Aviandalek New Member

Lizard noises?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Aviandalek, Jun 10, 2016.

So in my story, the "antagonists", I guess you could call them, are 8-9 foot humanoid lizard aliens (yeah fun right?). They are delighted at the sight of the protagonist and make a noise. I'm not an expert in lizards and I was wondering what kinds of sounds lizards make during certain situations. Through a little bit of online digging, I've found out that they trill, squeak, and hiss, but I haven't been able to find any good videos of them making noises. Also, does anyone have any onomatopoeia words for the trill?

2. Sifunkle

Sifunkle Dis Member

I'm not familiar with lizards trilling, so can't really offer onomatopoeia on that. Not that I'm saying it doesn't exist; I only have experience with a certain lizard species. I think hissing is the most common lizard noise, but some of the smaller geckoes and skinks I've dealt with have been squeakers. Some also make more of a clicking noise. And there's always the barking gecko:

Are you basing your aliens on any particular sort of lizard (skinks, dragons, monitors, geckoes, iguanas, chameleons, anoles, etc)? That might help in figuring out appropriate noises.

3. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    A Chirping perhaps?

The reptilian races in my own works do a fair amount of talking (and kicking ass). Though what else would a Militarized group of 7-8 foot badasses from a distant point in the galaxy do? Though they are much closer to dinos, and can growl and roar. But they mostly just talk. :p

4. Aviandalek

Aviandalek New Member

Ah, cool! Thanks for the video! There wasn't really a specific type I was basing them off of, but I heard that geckos are the most vocal so I think that might be better for the situation.

5. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

6. Aviandalek

Aviandalek New Member