1. Evil Flamingo

Evil Flamingo Banned Contributor

Sci Fi novels

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Evil Flamingo, Feb 8, 2010.

I'm really new to the whole "Science Fiction" genre, but I always wanted to find a decent one (or series) to read. I would appreciate some suggestions of personal favorites, since I haven't hardly read them. Thanks!

E. F. Mingo

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

You should take a look at some of the old classics.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Phillip K. Dick
    The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein
    Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
    War of the Worlds by HG Wells
    The Time Machine by HG Wells
    I am Legend by Richard Matherson
    Foundation by Isaac Asmiov

As well as that, it's worth having a look at the work of some newer writers in the genre. Myself, I'm partial towards Iain M. Banks, and Greg Egan. And Robert J. Sawyer's Flash Forward is very good, just don't expect it to be anything like the TV show.

3. Evil Flamingo

Thanks a lot. I had forgotten that I already read The Time Machine and I am Legend, so that takes a few off the classics list. I'll go check out the others though.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

The Known Space seried by Larry Niven. Many of them are short story collections, but Ringworld, A Gift from Earth, World of Ptaavs, and Protector are novels I recommend, along with the collection Neutron Star.

Arthur C. Clarke's 2001: A Space Odyssey, Rendezvous with Rama, and A Fall of Moondust. The last of the three is a bit dated in its science (most scientists no longer believe in seas of fluid dust on the moon nowadays), but it is a fine nailbiter survival story.

James P. Hogan's Thrice Upon a Time, The Genesis Machine, and The Two Faces of Tomorrow. The characters are somewhat flat, but the stories are very good anyway.

5. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor