1. Leaka

Leaka Creative Mettle

Losing All Faith

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Leaka, Jan 4, 2008.

I'm starting to lose all faith in my own writing ability.
    I have people telling me its really good and that I don't need to fix anything (offline English teachers.) and I'm have people tell me my grammar is horrible (online.).
    So, what does that mean?
    That my writing is horrible. (offline)I mean English teacher's don't spend that long to read and tell me its good.
    Is writing not a career choice I should choose?
    I had always thought I was a good writer with a few mistakes. But now I am seeing so many mistakes in my writing its making me lose my mind.
    I don't know why I can't produce a good piece of work anymore. I'm coming up with good ideas, but I can't execute them properly.
    I can't do my tenses right.
    I can't do grammar right.
    And I can't write a decent story.
    Not only that, but I have to many ideas so I never finish anything.
    What do I do?

2. Crazy Ivan

Crazy Ivan Contributing Member

How old are you?
    You're sixteen.
    How many years might you have until you're living your own life?
    Five.
    How many years is that?
    A lot.
    Should you be whining when you have that much time to practice, as opposed to all the adults here who are out there trying to make their own money?
    NO.

Look, it's highly impractical to imagine that you can make a living off of writing and writing alone, but it's also stupid to beat yourself up for not being perfect at a young age. (Yes, sixteen is a young age. Seriously.) Get over it. And just because you get a job when you're older doesn't mean you stop writing! And it especially doesn't mean you can't get published, if you keep writing.