1. UnrealCity

UnrealCity Active Member

Lost the Plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by UnrealCity, Jul 3, 2013.

I have an idea for a novel I would like to write. I know where and when I want it to take place, and I have a very basic idea on the two main characters, but I'm completely missing a plot or a story altogether! Obviously I cannot write a story without a plot, and I am quite new at trying to write a novel. How do you go about developing a plot? Do you just write and see where each character takes you, or do you outline a basic plot structure to begin with? I began to write about 2,300 words and then I stopped to ask my characters what the hell are you doing in my story??? They looked at me blankly and said they don't know.

There's a lot I need to learn. I'd appreciate any thoughts or suggestions:)

1 person likes this.
  2. maskedhero

maskedhero Active Member

Not knowing where they are going is quite problematic. Where they go matters less than the journey there, but I would suggest having some sort of journey. Even if it is to the corner store.

3. UnrealCity

UnrealCity Active Member

Thank you for your reply, maskedhero. You're absolutely right about needing a journey.

I have taken a closer look at my ideas to better explain as ambiguously as possible:

My two characters share a common goal. Meanwhile, half of the world in collaboration are building something of grand scales (which was originally the idea the two main characters had, as a joke-around).
    However, after I looked closely at how quickly this structure would have to be built, to be built before the main characters die, for them to see it unfold, I decided that it was unreasonable to have it built that quickly.

Perhaps I could introduce the main characters near the end of the construction, but then it wouldn't be their original idea as it would be built before they were born.