1. Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful New Member

Publishers of YA fantasy short stories?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Penny Dreadful, Jan 18, 2009.

I'm a new member and will be sure to post an introduction, but my internet connection is iffy (and not mine) so I would like to get this out of the way first...

I recently finished a short story that was intended to be "Adult". Unfortunately, the finished product strikes me as "YA", which wouldn't be a bad thing... if I knew of any YA short story publishers.

I've combed Duotrope and the like, but still... nothing that accepts fantasy short stories at a little under 7000 words. I know of several major magazines I can try, but this is my first attempt at actually sending off something I've written and I'm certainly not getting my hopes up with those.

On the other hand, I'm not looking for non-paying sources either... at least not yet.

Does anyone know of any good young adult (fantasy) magazines and/or anthologies? Any advice would be much appreciated.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

if you don't find them on duotrope, it's not likely that they exist...

that said, i just did a duotrope search and came up with 169 hits for magazines paying 'token and up' based on 'any' length... specifying 7k, it goes down to only 74... and at 5k, there are 121... so, if your word count is too high [max for most mags is 5k], then pare it down to an acceptable size, if you really want to see it in print...

finally, there may not be many magazines aimed at the YA market that feature short stories, since kids these days aren't reading magazines, preferring the internet and other 'quick-fix' electronic pursuits...

3. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor