1. Bhrodhnos

Bhrodhnos New Member

Main Forum Page Suggested an Introduction....

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Bhrodhnos, Oct 3, 2013.

So here I am, whoever I am.

I'm a linguist first and foremost and a writer of folklore fantasy and mythology second, and unfortunately, I do the former much better than I do the latter. That said, composing stories of various kinds of mostly fantastic stories does interest me a great deal, though I find it to be immensely difficult, so this seems like the sort of place to be for that. Hopefully it goes over well.

So, here's hoping for a warm welcome.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Welcome, Bhrodhnos :)

Here you will find an array of linguists, polyglots, wordsmiths and other sundry folk interested in the lore of the word, both written and spoken. My major at university was applied linguistics with a minor in anthropology, but I work as an interpreter, which is rather different as you may well know. Is that a chart of I-E family I see there as your avi? :)

Have a look through the Forum Rules paying particular attention to those concerning posting within the Writing Workshop.

Wrey

3. Bhrodhnos

Bhrodhnos New Member

Yes it is an Indo-European family tree. My primary area of interest has been in historical linguistics, focusing on Indo-Iranian. This has lead to a great deal of reading of really, really old texts in Sanskrit and Avestan (Ṛgveda, Gāθās, etc.) and an appreciation for mythology as a form of storytelling. It has also lead me to become obsessed with the phonetic realization of dorsal obstruents and obstruent clusters from Proto-Indo-European into Indo-Iranian, for whatever that's worth.

If you work as an interpreter, what languages do you act as a go-between for?

(PS. I like your "sacred aum as elephant" picture. I almost didn't recognize it at first without its vertical bar and with the anusvāra all off to the side like that)

4. Uberwatch