1. LottieLab

LottieLab New Member

Making stories longer?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by LottieLab, Apr 16, 2012.

I am a really keen writer (I wouldn't be on here if I wasn't!) and aiming to be an author but I always write stories that are only about ten pages long. It is too long for my school teacher, but how am I supposed to try and publish books as short as that!? When I read my stories to myself, they sound really rushed, like I squished all the action parts together. I get bored when I reach pages full of description, so maybe that has something to do with that. But in books like Eragon, there is plenty of action and not too much description but it doesn't seem rushed at all! Please, how do authors do that, and how can I make my stories 20 times longer!?

2. Jowettc

Jowettc Contributing Member

I imagine that you are young so first of all - DONT PANIC.

Contrary to what you might initially think most of us desperately try to REDUCE the length of our stories because they are often too wordy, or too indirect, to be worthy of initial publishing, so we trim, and trim, and trim away all the fat until we have the real meat of the story.

Very few people jump stright into novel publishing.

Write what you want, edit it, re-write it, edit it again and submit it for publishing. There are plenty of markets for short works (see duotrope) - even less than 40 words in some cases for flash fiction, and most short story publications prefer between 1,000 and 7,000 words for a short story. Once you are happy with your short's then you can look at fleshing out a novel.

By the way, most publishers don''t care about page counts as it doesnt mean much, they are only interested in word count.

3. LottieLab

LottieLab New Member