1. ManOrAstroMan

ManOrAstroMan Magical Space Detective Contributor

ManOrAstroMan's Progress Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by ManOrAstroMan, Oct 28, 2015.

Well, I figured I might as well start one of these and share how my writing journey is going. And, if anyone has any answers to questions posed here, I'd be happy to hear them!

Okay. So, for starters, I think I'll do a bit of rambling about NaNoWriMo. I've only ever really participated for real twice. The first time was back in college, when I started writing a fantasy adventure, which was HEAVILY inspired by my favorite video games and anime at the time. I ended up only getting about 26K, if I remember correctly, as I got pretty bogged down by worldbuilding, and, of course, college classes.
    My second attempt was last year, and I actually got about 46K, which I thought was pretty darn good, considering I work in retail, and November is probably the busiest month in the business. Physical exhaustion, psychological exhaustion, and I was still pretty close. I remember thinking I could knock out 4k words on November 30, but I got about 300 before my brain just said, "fuggit. not happnin, brah."
    Then, this past April (?), I did Camp NaNoWriMo, thinking, "Okay, this is not a stress month, like November, I got this one in the bank!"
    Well, I did about 30k. Worse than I did in November. Now, I can possibly attribute this to the fact that though the store wasn't as busy as it was in November, my schedule had changed to me working six days a week, with LOTS of clopening shifts. (If you don't know what that word means, ask anyone who works in retail.) So, sleep was one of those things which happens to other people. I've moooooostly acclimated to this now, and I do have the whole first week off in November (yuss!) so I may do better this year.