1. colorthemap

colorthemap New Member

Publishing process

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by colorthemap, Nov 21, 2010.

I am working on a piece, historical fiction, and I was wondering. Could anyone give a breif outline on how the publishing process goes for someone under 18? It is simply to brace my self and for me to be aware what is to come. Thanks!

Also please do not think I am so nieave to think it is query letter then done! I know you must painstakingly edit and such, I would simply like an outline of the steps needed to get a book published.

2. HeinleinFan

HeinleinFan Banned

I'm no lawyer, but as far as I know the publishing process is identical except your parents will have to co-sign the contract and any other formal agreements between you and the book's publisher.

The rest is the same. Writing, checking for errors, sending the first pages out to publishers in the genre, and so on.

One point you might consider is this: don't mention your age in the cover letter. It probably won't affect the editor's decision, but it might, either because the editor could look more critically at your story than he or she would otherwise, or because the editor doesn't want to deal with the hassle of arranging things between their office and you and your parents, plus your agent if you decide to use one.

When they've read your book and had the chance to really appreciate the story, then your age can come up. No one's going to break off a deal just because of age; Amelia Atwater-Rhodes and Hannah Moskowitz show that. (Both were first published before the age of 18.) But before the editor has gotten to the story, when they're still just reading the cover letter, they might let bias sway them. So you might do well to, ah, fail to mention your age when you submit your manuscript, and not let them know until an acceptance has been received.

1 person likes this.
  3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor