1. raccoonwrites

raccoonwrites New Member

Tips for getting back into writing after long break?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by raccoonwrites, Aug 16, 2016.

Hi!

I recently signed up here in a bid to, as my question suggests, get back into writing after a long break, and was wondering if anyone has any tips?

As a teenager, I wrote almost every day, but somewhere between going to university, getting a BA and an MA, traveling, and working really hard on the journalism thing (I'm a journalist as my 'day-job' now so it kind of paid off), I let it get to the point where, except a couple of creative writing projects for school, a few poems and fragments of dialogue or prose, I haven't finished a substantial piece of creative writing in a really long time. I've been writing odd things, but honestly no more than once a month for maybe three or four years.

I write super regularly anyway as a journalist, and because its my job its just instinct now, so hoping trying to write stories and poems regularly will use a lot of the same skills.

TLDR - What do you guys do to write regularly? How do you get into a routine? How can I finally sit down at my computer and write, say, a whole short story for the first time in years?

All advice much appreciated :)

2. Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith Banned Contributor

I write when I feel like it. You just have to find out what works for you.

3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Find something you're really excited to write about. Being in journalism, you might come across interesting stories anyway - use them as inspiration - how do you think X got there? What do you think would have happened if Y hadn't been there, if Z found out this info earlier? etc.